my candida-friendly chocolate chip cookies

Posted on February 2, 2006. Filed under: Candida, Candida Recipes, Gluten Free Recipes, Recipes |

I kind of created this recipe from taking a “normal” chocolate chip cookie recipe and subsituting pretty much everything. Here it is:

1 cup brown rice flour (you can also use white rice flour if you’d like)
4 tbsp grapeseed oil
1 heaping tbsp rice syrup
a bit less than 1/2 a tsp of salt
1 beaten egg
1 large handful of chocolate chips (must have cane juice in them instead of sugar; in Canada I believe the one good brand is Tropical) this is the only slight cheat in the recipe but cane juice is better for you than refined sugar
2 tbsp of water

-Blend all ingredients
-Chill for at least an hour in the fridge
-Use a non-stick cookie sheet (or grease a cookie sheet)
-Roll into one inch balls (the dough will be crumbly, but you can roll it all together and then flatten the balls)
-bake for 10-12 minutes at 350 degrees

note that rice flour doesn’t brown (except for on the bottom of the cookies), so they will be done after this time though they won’t look like they are

it may take a few tries to get the ingredients to taste how you like them, you can also add vanilla (but make sure it has no gluten or sugar in it, as most brands do)

enjoy!

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

31 Responses to “my candida-friendly chocolate chip cookies”

RSS Feed for Friends Keep Saying I Should Blog… Comments RSS Feed

Oooh…these look yummy! Going to make them this weekend…I’ll let you know what I think. Thanks for posting!!!

Awesome! oh, and the name of the chocolate chip brand is Tropical Source. They are sugar, dairy, and gluten free! Good luck! I hope they turn out. Let me know how it goes.

[…] Hey — people are actually landing in my blog when they search for “candida cookies” so that’s pretty fun. After being through this candida ordeal, I’m all about helping other people who may have to go through the same thing. Post if you liked the cookies, or if you changed any of the recipe etc. there are still zillions of other things you can substitute. I’ll try to post some other recipes that I create along the way […]

I’ll try these out soon. I wonder if xylitol (supposably anti candida sugar) could do well in this recipe, I would like to have some pumpkin pie with xylitol sweetener along with the grapefruit seed extract. great website, hope it grows with recipes cuz I have intestinal fungus. I would like to mix high protein with anti fungal desserts and a wight lifting program to gain weight. Please add more ideas with possible!

Hi,

I too am a candida sufferer, and here in the United States the doctors don’t recognize it either. My question is actually about xylitol; do you know if it is safe for us?

Thanks for the support,
Sloan

I think it’s a Western doctor, chip on the shoulder ignorance thing we’ve got going on in North America and England.

Everything I’ve learned about xylitol said to stay away from it — that it isn’t safe, but I have seen it in 1 candida cookbook as an ingredient and was confused. I’d say stay away to be safe until you’ve been on the diet at least a year.

That being said, you’d be able to tell the side-effects pretty much right away, I’m sure, if you ate it.

Check out these books — they are excellent resources: https://doth.wordpress.com/2007/02/09/the-must-have-books-if-you-have-candida/

Dear Sloan

Dr Dave from http://www.modernherbalist.com told me that candida hates xylitol (birch bark sweetner) and that it’s actually good for me (I’m on his very strict anti-candida diet…) I’ve introduced it and have had no bad effects at all although it can have a mild laxative effect. On his diet, you’d only really be able to add it to drinks or the daily half a grapefruit (although I love it sprinkled on half an avocado (!!?)) but we get 100% cocoa chocolate where I live and I’ve discovered it sweetens that (melted) and re-sets hard again very quickly so that’s something I’ll be reintroducing as a sweet treat when I finish his strict programme. Hope that helps you.

Chocolate chip cookies are fantastic! Thanks for the recipe

Does anyone know where I can find the “good” chocolate Chips? Do they sell the tropical source brand at trader joes or henry’s markets? Im located in the US, please someone let me know where I can find a good kind of chocolate in the US.

Trader Joe’s is a pretty good store — or Wild Oats, if there’s one near you. Ask the staff — they’ll know exactly where to take you and what product to show you. They’re great! Good luck and let us know what you find so we can help others in the same situation.

I cannot find these Tropical brands chips anywhere. I found some that are grain sweetened with barley malt and corn. Now I am sure they have gluten because of the barly but they do not have sugar, do you think these would be okay to use?

Hi Susan,

You probably shouldn’t go for the ones that you’ve found — corn is a definite no on a candida diet as is gluten. Corn because it’s moldy (including corn chips, corn oil, etc.). I wouldn’t risk it — especially so early on in your diet attempts.

Rice Syrup and cane juice are NOT allowed on the Candida diet!

Hi Maggie. It depends on what your body can handle. I’ve always stipulated that if you had read the other comments — check it out. You may be able to. Not at first, but at about 6 months or so into the diet.

And I agree about the cane juice — not to be had until at least year in — but I do indicate tha this is a slight cheating (but not the worst that you could do). Sushi would be worse.

could you maybe replace the sugar with stevia???

look good. Definitely not goin to be a candida inhibitor, though.Candida loves all that stuff! There is no credible evidence at all that xylose inhibits candida . In fact it has genes that are signaled to feed on it as well.

http://pubs.acs.org/cgi-bin/abstract.cgi/bipret/2006/22/i06/abs/bp060263i.html

I made the cookies with stevia instead or the rice syrup and they didn’t turn out so great (it was my first time cooking with stevia so that is probably part of it). So this time I decided to add a couple of large spoons full of applesauce instead of the rice syrup and it made the cookies moist and a little sweet. I’m not sure if that is ok for the candida diet but they taste great!

thanks so much. I was going crazy as I didnt have anything good to eat with tea as my husband and I settled in for the night. It is a ritual I guess.

Ajith Next Film is “THALAIVAN”:
Ultimate star AJITH will now join hands with Director Maadesh for the film ‘THALAIVAN’. At present, busy shooting for the film Vithagan starring Vijaykanth in lead role, Director Madesh was involved in with some talks with Ajith over for a long time.

Ajith impressed from the narration of story, ajith kumar has sign to get roped into film. Coming soon after getting completed with the film directed by Raju Sundaram, this one would initial start from this movie.

Speaking regard this movie, Madesh says that once this film gets released, Thala fans will start addressing him as Thalaivan. It is mentionable that “THALAIVAN” is the title of yesteryear Tamil cinima starring MGR in lead character.

visit : http://www.ajithlive.blogspot.com

Brown rice syrup and cane juice are NOT candida friendly. The only sweeteners that are are stevia and agave. Nothing else is close to safe.

I understand that you are not to have rice, flour, syrup, sugar, cane juice on the candida diet. So how are these Candida-free? Please explain. I need a cookie! Ok, I don’t need a cookie, but I want one. I haven’t eaten sweet since July 2008. I have Lyme, Candida and Interstitial Cystitis. I would love to find something sweet I can eat.

I understand that you think that you are offering people a safe treat, in fact you might be helping people reverse the progress they’ve made on their diet. To claim “Candida Friendly” is absolutely not the truth.
Cane sugar in any form, as well as white, or even brown rice flour WILL FEED CANDIDA!
I doesn’t matter how far along in the diet you are, if you are battling Candida DO NOT EAT THESE COOKIES. If you must eat
cookies eat some made from almond meal, cashews, and xylitol. Once brown rice is ground into flour, it changes composition and becomes a simple carb, therefore feeding Candida.
PLEASE CHANGE THE TITLE OF YOUR COOKIES you are only potentialy hurting people, by misleading them.

Yes, all of the research I could find says these ingredients are NOT Candida friendly – no matter how long you’ve been on a Candida diet. Just because you’ve reduced the yeast (or even killed off the overgrowth) in your body, does not mean you can now eat these ingredients.

Our doctor explains it like this: when you have an overgrowth, it’s like a pile of laundry. If you throw more on it gets higher and higher. If you clear it all out, and then throw something on the floor, it’s not a pile, but it’s not a good thing either.

If anyone knows of any strictly candida friendly cookie recipes, I’d love to hear them!

cashews have in fact high mold content and are therefore not candida safe either

Rice syrup is not candida friendly, have you tried this with stevia or xyitol? please say yes…

Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the internet the easiest thing to be aware of.
I say to you, I certainly get irked while people consider worries that they plainly do not know about.
You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side-effects
, people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more.
Thanks

I am really thankful to the holder of this website who has shared this
impressive post at at this place.

When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each
time a comment is added I get three emails with the same comment.
Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
Bless you!

After I initially commented I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are
added- checkbox and from now on every time a comment is added I get 4 emails with
the exact same comment. There has to be a means you can remove me from that service?
Many thanks!

These articles, if well-written, can get you much needed traffic to your
website. Overall opinion of this is that this is, by far, the most impressive and complete Twitter traffic automated product out there
on the market today. Sign up for Elyse’s free introductory
teleseminar available at =>. Not only will these help you establish
credibility, you probably won.

Your writing is rather memorable and easy to understand for me. Thanks for sharing


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...