how does one become an osteopath with no science background?

Posted on December 19, 2006. Filed under: Candida, The Dyingness |

I just got home from the osteopath’s. You may recall my first visit when he completely won me over and subsequent visits where he has continued to work his magic and to fix the dyingness.

Tonight he didn’t even really have to work for that long on my digestive tract! I mean he found little tweaks, but for the most part he worked on my cranial nerves. He balanced my brain basically and said that he found a good release from trauma — which, after much prompting from me, he said was likely old trauma and likely from when I was 7 or 8. How cool would it be to be able to tell that!?! The only thing I can remember happening to my head at that age was getting hit with a baseball square in the eye. Oh, and by a pool cue, but that was on the left side…the pool ball in the eye on a drunken night in Guelph (well, I wasn’t drunk, but Donna, who gave me a black eye with the cue ball I stole from the bar was). I assume, however, that everyone’s heads have been through a lot. I don’t think I’ve ever been hit hard enough to have a concussion though.

Anyway, I’m very interested in how this is progressing and I wish I could see him every day (though I know my body needs the days in between to readjust).

He, and my naturopath are the two very, very good things to have come out of all of this dyingness.

So, how, with my English Lit background, after dropping science when I had finished grade 10 (I think I cheated my way through that entire year), does one become an osteopath?

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

5 Responses to “how does one become an osteopath with no science background?”

RSS Feed for Friends Keep Saying I Should Blog… Comments RSS Feed

[…] I was thinking about this “old trauma” idea and remembered with great pain all of those terribly performed hip-circle-ups over my 8 years in gymnastics. That, paired with landing flat on my back so many times trying to do back flips, or not quite yet perfecting the handless cartwheel (that took some time and a lot of head crashes). Even presenting must screw up your back. I’ve got to explore the new theory that those paralell bars have got to wreak havoc on your developing digestive tract when you’re a little kid and have no idea how to do them properly. What do you think? Am I onto something with this?   […]

So I’ve caught your blog some time after you posted this and I’m sure you’ve found that to become an Osteopath you need a Bachelor of Applied Science (Osteopathy) [3 year degree]. You can do a Masters [2 year F/T] after. I’ve jsut been looking into it too but I can’t face another degree.

Ah, but what are the prerequisites prior to the BSc? The last time I took science was um, 10th grade! I somehow doubt you can jump into the Masters from an English Degree 🙂 Thanks for the info! I think you should go for it! It’s just so interesting and you can charge literally an arm and a leg for each appointment.

Recently laid-off, also with no science
background, I am looking for a career change.
From the research I have done, it looks like
I would have to go back to school, get a 4 yr
pre-med degree, then apply to Osteopath school
which would be another 4 years, then 3-4 yrs
residency.
Essentially, you can’t do it without gaining
science background. At my age, I’m not sure
I have 11 yrs to put in to school (that would
put me close to retirement age just completing
schooling; which is dissappointing). But,
I could go back and get an RN and be back
in the work force in 2 yrs or so. At my age,
retirement savings is more and more important,
and you have to work to save, you know?

I say if you are young enough and havent already
done so, go for it. Apply to a school with a
pre-med program and just do it. The payoff seems
great if you have the time to put in.

Hey,

Come to england – look on eso.ac.uk We have a science access course for 4 weeks then a 4 yr degree course ending in a masters and full osteopathy qualification


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...