Rosie Little’s Cautionary Tales for Girls

Posted on August 13, 2007. Filed under: Books |

978-1-59692-252-5.jpgI rarely like short stories and I pretty much never read collections of them. But the adorable cover of Rosie Little’s Cautionary Tales for Girls caught my eye and I thought I would give it a chance. And boy, am I glad I did. I haven’t fallen in love with a book like this in a long time. And I have to say that the writing style and story-telling by Danielle Wood is beyond words that I can find to express how much I truly enjoyed every perfectly crafted word.

This book quickly jumped to my top 5 of books ever read. Partially because I’m sure that because of some of the sexual content, it would certainly be banned in schools — that appeals to me and actually suits the whole package and title of the book.

This is a modern-day Little Red Riding Hood story and the things that Rosie experiences and goes through are both beautiful and horrible (sometimes at the same time) and always vivid and true. There’s a great deal of play on many fairy tales and biblical references that work so perfectly. And I promise that once you read about the mannequins you will not be able to put this book down.

I’ll admit it’s probably a book for 15-40 year olds. And one that should be read at least once a decade as I’m certain that with each read, in every stage of life, you will get something completely different out of Rosie’s experiences.

I rarely latch on to a book with this much passion and intensity, and when I do, I will not rest until I’m sure that people have shared in my love. So please, buy a copy (the best part is that it will fit in your purse) and come back and let me know what you think.

After saying all that, I think I may have loved it more because I had no expectations. So I hope I haven’t gotten your hopes up to high (I hate reviews of movies that build it up and then you expect something that isn’t even possible). I think Rosie will definitely deliver, and I hope you can discover her on your own terms.

There what I would think are a few spoilers in this other blog post, but if you like spoilers then have a look. If not, definitely stay away.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

