bathtub woes

Posted on July 14, 2007. Filed under: Condo Things |

Though it’s not as bad as nearly killing myself with mustard gas, I think I ruined my bathtub whilst attempting to clean it. I didn’t think about what it was made of and how I should clean it (though, thinking back, I think my mom told me when I was first cleaning in…). Nor did I think to consult my large volume of  Martha Stewart’s Homekeeping Handbook (though perhaps I should consult it now to see if it has a solution). So I grabbed my Vim and the fateful SOS pad (instead of a sponge). The reason why parts of the tub were turning slightly grey didn’t register until I started talking to Brian and he pointed out that I actually shouldn’t use an SOS pad as it could strip off the polish, down to the metal. Which, is entirely correct.

So now I have a partially ruined bathtub (though it still feels like they’re polish on the affected areas, so I’m not sure that I’ve figured out what I’ve done in its entirety yet… And so now it’s a bit depressing to know that I’ve ruined the bathtub and that any potential fix is going to cost money and any lack of fixing it will cost more money down the road. I can’t believe I did something so stupid! Now it just looks dirty no matter how clean it is, which I don’t like very much. Anyone out there ever do the same thing (come on, there’s got to be someone out there who has)? What did you do to fix it?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “bathtub woes”

RSS Feed for Friends Keep Saying I Should Blog… Comments RSS Feed

Well, my dear, I might poison myself with mustard gas, but I do live with a lovely and delightful RRHB who knows how to fix these things. You can paint it.

His advice is to hire someone to paint it for you because you’ll need to use an expoxy. Here’s a link to a kit: http://www.klenks.com/klenkspages/tubtile.html

Apparently, it’s a gross and hard job, but it’s easier to do that than it would be to replace the tub.

Call me if you need more advice.

Thanks! Upon further investigation I think that the previous owner may have done this — and that’s why it came off so easily. I don’t have the cash to do it now (or any cash actually), but will definitely call if I need more advice! Thanks to you and RRHB.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

