to ottawa and back

Posted on June 30, 2007. Filed under: The boy(s), Travelling |

I took the train up to Ottawa on Tuesday night and it was only about an hour late because we broke down just outside of Gananoque. Brian met me at the train and we wandered around the city, trying to find food.

I met my cousin and his wife the next day for lunch. We haven’t had an actual conversation probably for 20 some odd years, so it was nice to talk as grown ups. Then I met up with two of my old housemates from Queen’s for dinner. And I have not had that much fun or laughed that hard since we lived together four years ago. Seriously. That was the absolute best year and I really wish we could get together more often than once every four years or so.

Brian was up there for a two week session with the NAC. We went to the final concert on Thursday night — all young, accomplished conductors. And it was really neat to see 5 conductors perform pieces back-to-back. We then booted it out of town, and stayed in Kingston overnight. We found a cheap, local motel that was actually really nice. After a quick breakfast with Brian’s friend Sean we were back to Toronto.

At my parents, my other housemate from Queen’s, and one of my closest friends happened to call — completing the reunion 🙂

I then raced home to see if the fish was okay (I was fish sitting for Brian) and he did not look so hot. Kind of hovering near the top of the bowl and not really moving. I was really quite worried as I’ve already grown quite attached to the fish. But he’s in new water and right as rain now.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

