rapid transit in toronto

Posted on June 15, 2007. Filed under: Climate Change, Environment, gta, public transit, Travelling |

I am SO excited at the potential prospect of my dream come through — rapid transit and more subways in the GTA! Here’s hoping it actually happens.

I am constantly frustrated with public transit (especially when I come home from London and wish that the tube could be superimposed over the GTA).  (I’ve talked about taking the train before) Not only does it take over an hour to get from the outer lines of the GO train into the downtown core, but most of the lines only run a few trains in the morning (4 usually) and in the rush-hour time. This is not acceptable. Also, I still have to drive to the station and, in Mississauga, there are no spots by 7:30. That’s right, all 770 spots are full by the time the second train has pulled out — what happens to those who want to take the next 3 trains? Ridiculous!

Everyone should live within 10 minutes walking distance from a train or subway station and trains should run all day and frequently.

I do take the train and subway as much as I can. I still have a 20 minute drive to the subway but only a 7 minute trip to the train station. I don’t take the busses, however, because I can drive anywhere they’re going to take me faster, so why would I?

This is one great step and I have my fingers crossed!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “rapid transit in toronto”

RSS Feed for Friends Keep Saying I Should Blog… Comments RSS Feed

Unfortunately, until our Governments start to “invest” in public transit, looking towards the future, this will remain only a dream. Too many promises, we simply need “action”, now!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

