sonny rollins at massey hall

Posted on May 6, 2007. Filed under: Family, Music |

When, in my adventures listening to Jazz FM, I discovered that Sonny Rollins was coming to town, I immediately emailed my mom to see if the little bro might want to go. He also plays the tenor sax and is pretty good, but I thought that seeing a true professional play might be inspirational. I was surprised when she replied that she, my dad, and the little guy would all like to come.

So last night, we ventured down to Massey Hall and everyone was so cheery and happy, it was nice. We went to Fran’s and they had some dessert first and then we squished into the far-too-close-together seats and got ready for the show. Man can he play. I mean, of course he can, but it was amazing watching this 76 year old man, who was born in Harlem in 1930, to get up there and just become such a presence on the stage. Kevin was even amazed at his fingers moving along the instrument when he stated “wow, he plays as fast as Billy plays guitar hero”. I’m not sure if that was the inspiration I was going for, but perhaps it will become latent knowledge of some sort. Half way through the first set I realized that a friend from work was only 2 rows ahead of us. So random — out of all those seats and there he is. We moved into slightly better seats at the intermission and could see the entire band from there. The African percussionist was very cool to watch — I’ve told Kevin that I’ll have to see about getting him a bongo. He wants the entire African drum set.

My parents, who don’t like jazz, surprised me by absolutely loving the show. My mom said she could have listened to him play forever.

We haven’t had a family outing in a long, long time, and it was really nice.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

