whilst in stratford-upon-avon

Posted on April 26, 2007. Filed under: Books, Theatre, Travelling |

Last year when I was in Stratford-Upon-Avon I scribbled down a quote I liked that was written on the wall of the Shakespeare exhibit at the house beside where Shakespeare used to live when he returned from London. I just found the scrap of paper in my unpacking so I thought I’d put it up here so I can get rid of the scrap:

“Read him, therefore, and again, and again, and if then you do not like him, surely you are in some manifest danger not to understand him?”
-John Heminges & Henry Condell in their address to “the great variety of readers,” in the First Folio, 1622

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

