divisadero, michael ondaatje launch

Posted on April 17, 2007. Filed under: Books |

I forgot to mention that I went to the launch party for Michael Ondaatje’s new novel, Divisadero, last week. I haven’t read it yet, but it is on sale today). The party was at The Stone’s Place (I’m getting ridiculously familiar with this area, as The Gladstone is just up the street and I was there recently for another launch and a friend’s poetry reading).

Back to the party — it was fantastic! There was even a line up to get in and the evening consisted of an introduction from Ellen Seligman and a brief speech by Ondaatje himself. I haven’t heard him speak before and I must say I love his accent. The evening was quite ecclectic, complete with a mariachi band. As I was leaving, Margaret Atwood was just arriving (which I’m sure I’ll never get used to).

I haven’t read anything by Mr. Ondaatje in a while. The last being The Cinnamon Peeler and The Collected Works of Billy the Kid. I think these were both for class in my undergrad, so I did get a lot out of them, but haven’t had a chance to get into anything else just yet.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “divisadero, michael ondaatje launch”

RSS Feed for Friends Keep Saying I Should Blog… Comments RSS Feed

Ondaatje’s voice is magnificent — I wrote a whole series of prose poems based on how beautiful it sounds. And even one of them got published.

http://www.taddlecreekmag.com/bittersweet.shtml


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

