jane austen’s pride and prejudice top book in the uk

Posted on March 15, 2007. Filed under: Books |

I’m excited to learn that Pride and Prejudice is the book that Britain cannot live without. I’m a bit surprised that in this day and age that this is true, but would have to say that it is one of my favourites. I’m not sure which book, out of the ones I have read, I would be able to say I couldn’t live without.

The top ten books from the survey listed here are:

1. Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen (20%)

2. Lord of the Rings, JRR Tolkien (17%)

3. Jane Eyre, Charlotte Bronte (14%)

4. Harry Potter books, JK Rowling (12%)

5. To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee (9.5%)

6. The Bible (9%)

7. Wuthering Heights , Emily Bronte (8.5%)

8. Nineteen Eighty Four, George Orwell (6%)

8. His Dark Materials , Philip Pullman (6%)

10. Great Expectations , Charles Dickens (5.5%)

 

I’m happy to say that I’ve read 6 of the ten! Pride and Prejudice,  Harry Potter books, To Kill a Mockingbird, Wuthering Heights, Nineteen Eighty Four and Great Expectations.

 

Do you have a book that you could not live without? Or an absolute favourite? And why?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “jane austen’s pride and prejudice top book in the uk”

RSS Feed for Friends Keep Saying I Should Blog… Comments RSS Feed

His Dark Materials is soooo good.

I couldn’t live without… FACEBOOK!
that is my favourite book.

All right, I’ll have to add that one to my list now.

Ha! What a favourite 😉


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

