jazz fm night with louis armstrong and ella fitzgerald

Posted on February 14, 2007. Filed under: Music, The boy(s), Theatre |

My favourite radio station, Jazz FM, had a fantastic concert last night at the Old Mill with top musicians coming together to put on a beyond fantastic performance. June Garber was beyond fantastic. I adored her voice, her personality, and her performance and must say that she is now one of my favourite people. Brian and I both bought her CD (yes the same one) for each other for Valentine’s Day.

I couldn’t see much of the stage from where I was sitting, so I missed out on seeing all of the instrumentalists play, but could see Grammy nominee (and wonderful trumpet player) Kevin Clark  as well as the leading lady perfectly.

I knew almost every song that they played, which I always enjoy — plus there were at least three favourites in there including Black Coffee. The evening truly was magical and I was in fully mushy lovey dovey mode by the end of it all.

There are 2 more concerts in this Sound of Jazz concert series for this season. I’m not sure that I’ll be able to make it to the one that is still available for purchase, but I can’t wait to see what is in the line-up for next year. I’m not sure that I would go for dinner again, though it’s nice to have it as an option (and it wasn’t overly expensive, which was surprising, plus they catered to my candida diet of no sugar, dairy or gluten, which was awesome).

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

