persuasion by jane austen

Posted on January 16, 2007. Filed under: Books |

I finally finished reading Persuasion by Jane Austen for our 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die…The Club book club at work.

I really enjoyed it. I get caught up in the language so much — I adore it. Reading this had more meaning to me now as a great deal of the story is set in Bath, and I was fortunate enough to visit the city of Bath (which I wrote about here and here). I was fascinated by the city. On my last day there, I visited the Jane Austen Centre, which was a bit disappointing, but they do have a great enewsletter to sign up for if you’re a fan.

As for the story itself, the girls were right and it is a fantastic letter! I won’t give too much of the story away in case the book clubbers are reading (I don’t want to spoil it), but from what I learned of Jane Austen and of society in Bath at the time she lived there, this story rings quite true and many sentiments must have been extracted from her life (she hated Bath and was forced to move there due to financial circumstances).

I enjoyed the small details (even knowing the streets that the characters were walking along) and the language in which the novel was written as much as the plotline itself.

Perfectly crafted and totally enjoyable!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

