shows what i know

Posted on December 29, 2006. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I was thinking that I had to use up my stamps this week before I had to add that dreaded 1 cent increase they add every single year. And, when I went to find a link, I discovered that they are creating permanent stamps here, like the ones in England, so that even if there is a cost increase, you don’t have to add the penny to the stamp to compensate. There’s more info here about it.

One of the neat facts on this press release is:

“Since 2000, more than 430-million 1 cent stamps have been printed in Canada. Placed end to end, these stamps would cover a distance of almost 11,000 kilometres. To get a sense of how long that is, remember the Trans-Canada Highway, the longest national highway in the world, stretches from St. John’s, Newfoundland to Victoria, B.C and is only 7,604 kilometres long!”

So, what do I do with my stamps this year that need a 1 cent partner? Do I not get to use them any more? Yikes! I still have stamps from 2005 that I didn’t get paired up with that penny stamp to use up. Guess I’d better get writing! Haha.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

