holiday jam

Posted on December 14, 2006. Filed under: Music, randomness, School, The boy(s) |

Brian got tickets for the Holiday Jam that he went to last year as a spur of the moment plan. We went last night and it was a really good show. Sarah Harmer, who I’ve seen a few times this year (and oh so many times in Kingston when she was based from the area and would just show up for things like appearing in a quartet for The Vagina Monologues). It’s always a great show, though she played drums, which was the first time I had seen that occurance — and it was pretty cool.

Spencer Evans, who used to play at The Grad Club at Queen’s every Thursday (a gig which he said last night ended a few years ago; likely the last year that I could go was his last as well which is kind of nostalgic) was also there. The first time I ever saw him was when I went up to Queen’s with my family to check out the scene. He was singing in a band on the 1000 Islands Cruise. I, of course, didn’t know who he was at this time, but he was very entertaining. Then fourth year came, and with it, The Grad Club. I went every Thursday night to see Spencer play. He did an all request night and it was awesome! My favourite bit was when he played Minnie the Moocher (singing and clarinet) and walked across all of the tables. Those nights were some of my favourites at Queen’s because I could just go there on my own and would either run into people, or just enjoy being there for that time of my life in that moment. It was fantastic.

Some nights my friend Joan would sing with him — and she has a kick-ass voice, so it was always a treat. I have a picture of the two of them somewhere. I chatted with Spencer for a moment, and found out that he still plays at The Toucan on Monday nights. Not that I’ll be in Kingston on a Monday very often, but you should definitely drop by and check him out if you have a chance. He was also on The Escarpment Tour with Sarah.

Sam Roberts played — and it was my first time seeing him. The last song he did was with 7 other male vocalists and it was really cool. I wish I knew what song it was because I’d like to have it for Christmas.

Then out came The Hip. Yet another Kingston connection. My housemate taught one of their kids skating lessons (he lived around the corner from us). I went to highschool (not in Kingston) with Gord Downie’s cousin, so all we heard about was The Hip. Then, once you committ to Queen’s you have no choice but to start listening to the band. And you love it! I’ve now seen them 4 times and each are quite unique circumstances. The first was in second year at the ACC — it was one of my first dates with Cameron.

The second time was in Kingston (where they never play) at a fundraiser on RMC grounds. I remember thinking “only in Canda would you have a big concert in the open on something that is supposed to be secure and military”. The best moment was, after watching the bands play from about 30 feet away, walking back over the Causway into downtown Kingston with tens of thousands of people. It was a neat scene.

The third was with another ex for New Year’s (in Hamilton). I remember being way more excited when I found out that The Weakerthans were opening (who I had only seen one other time, in Vancouver) than to see the main attraction, but The Hip put on a really good show.

Then there was last night. With Brian and his friends. And it was a good set, especially when the band started playing a song in the wrong key then stopped and had to restart.

This post doesn’t make much sense, but I think the main jist of it was that I feel very connected to these artists in particular because of their connection to Kingston and to many big events in my life. They are constant and their CDs have been the soundtrack of many a summer day sitting on my front porch in K-town to break-ups to first dates to just about everything. To see them all play together in one event had a lot of meaning.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

