giller light party

Posted on November 9, 2006. Filed under: Books, Music |

I went to the Giller Light party the other night (this is the non-real Giller event that usually ends up being all industry people, which is quite fun). I had a blast! I love those nights where I go somewhere all by myself and then run into, quite literally, 50 or more people who I know and who I haven’t seen in a long time. It reminds me so much of my days at Queen’s. I couldn’t go 2 steps without running into another group of people and I was completely in my element! Chantal Kreviazuk played three songs after the prize was awarded (one was from her new albumb and I’m going to have to remember what the track was called because I actually really liked it a lot). I was about 5 feet away from her, but she didn’t seem to impressed to be there. Oh well, it was still neat (as always) to see a live performer.

The winner of the prize was Vincent Lam for his book Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures. I haven’t read it — and honestly, I usually don’t read prize books (though many people do). But I admit that I have a little crush on the author after hearing his gracious acceptance speech.

Do you follow book prizes and/or try to read everything on the list before the awards are given out? If so, is there a favourite award list? The Gillers are definitely popular in Canada, but I’m not sure if people elsewhere have heard of them…so I’m just wondering if you have? Or do you wait until the jury decides who the winner is and then just read that book?

I will have to add Bloodletting to my ever-growing list.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

