96% of men still ask?

Posted on September 23, 2006. Filed under: Marriage |

I heard on the radio today that 96% of men still ask the father’s permission for a woman’s hand in marriage before asking her. I was a bit surprised that the number would be so high. So I thought I’d ask you — did your hubby or fiance as your dad first? Was that something you liked? Did your dad say no? Haha. What happens then?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “96% of men still ask?”

RSS Feed for Friends Keep Saying I Should Blog… Comments RSS Feed

I asked my wife’s father for his permission before I proposed to my wife. We had been dating for a couple years and were obviously serious for each other. No one was all that surprised and he was happy for us. And it wasn’t that my wife wanted me to ask permission, I just felt like it was the respectful thing to do.

Yeah, I asked my father-in-law for permission as well. And while I suppose it was a little old fashion and respectful to get permission beforehand… he also had a diamond guy I needed to chat with beforehand too 😉

That is very sweet of you guys 🙂

My husband asked my dad for permission. Apparently my dad just laughed an said you have my blessing, but he also did say to wait until I was done school before actually getting married. We were going to anyways, but that was one thing that was important.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

