give girls a chance

Posted on August 12, 2006. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Yesterday was a busy, but great day! I ran my very first meeting at work, which was fun. Then, since I was downtown already, I finally had a meeting with one of the volunteers at Give Girls a Chance.

I am so excited to start working with them (on communications and marketing, and updating the website). This is the first cause I’ve ever come across that I’m actually passionate about. The first one that I truly feel will make an impact and a difference in lives and in the world. It will be great to see the beginning of a positive cycle as girls with education (who wouldn’t have received any, or a limited one due to circumstance, beliefs etc.) taking back what they learn from school or programs and teaching others.

The team of people involved are wonderful and I know I’ll learn a lot from them. I was SO very excited after the meeting yesterday.

I still remember, even my mother telling her that she had to fight her father to go to Grade 13 because “girls didn’t need to finish school, they’re just going to get married and have families anyway”. That was just in 1971 and here in Canada.

Most of these girls are up against far greater challenges and I plan for this involvement to be a life-long committment, so you’ll be hearing a lot about it from me.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

