still banning books

Posted on July 6, 2006. Filed under: Books, Politics, School |

I spoke briefly before about how I am interested in banned books and the reasons behind why they are banned. Here’s a new case of a book that was banned from schools in Miami for depicting communist life in Cuba. Do you have stories of more recently banned books? Or have you ever been in a school or establishment where you weren’t allowed to read something or it was banned?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “still banning books”

RSS Feed for Friends Keep Saying I Should Blog… Comments RSS Feed

Well, I don’t know about banned books but the Bishop of the Catholic Dioscese in Lincoln Nebraska has put the pain of mortal sin on any Catholic who watches the movie “The Da Vinci Code”. I’m not sure if he is including the book or not. My guess is he is. Being a law abiding Catholic I will not see the movie. Actually, I never had any desire to since I wasn’t all that impressed with the book. I don’t feel like my faith was compromised reading the book and hate to admit that I’m a little insulted to think that the Bishop has so little regard for my ability to differenciate between dogma and fiction but, he is the Bishop after all and I will abide with his decision like it or not. p.s. I read the book before the ban so I’m hoping my soul is safe.

I am interested in the reasons behind why people or organizations think it is necessary to ban certain books, and I am against it and really against censorship all together. I just don’t understand why, for example, it was okay to read The Da Vinci Code before the ban, but not after just because you were told not to. I appreciate your comment that you are insulted to think that the Bishop has little regard for your ability to well, basically think for yourself. If you are provided with the tools with which to think critically, then you should be able to make a decision to read or to not read a book or to see a movie, or to read a certain organization’s literature. Banning something often makes many people only want to read it more, and the attention that it receives makes people want to seek out the source and read it for themselves. Did you people not see Footloose? Haha. I’m joking — but in actuality, find a “banned” book or movie. Read it. Watch it. And then tell me what YOU think about it. Not what you’re being told to think (this is the general you here, not intended to be directed at sykomother at all). Any arguments that are pro banning books out there? I’d love to hear from you too — it’s just so interesting and all comes down to how powerful the written word is and what it has done to create the world as we know it today. To all those friends who told me not to drop science in high school because I wouldn’t go anywhere, I challenge you to think of the possibility of the world and of science to exist as it does without our ability to harness the power of words. Languages and text, banned or not, should be studied in connection with sciences and music etc. Wow, this rant went way off topic. Back to banned books — hmmmm, I wonder if I’ve just found myself some sort of a PhD topic…I’ve always wanted to get one of those…Food for thought.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

