Happy Canada Day!!

Posted on July 1, 2006. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Happy birthday Canada! For the first time in years, I haven’t paid attention to the fact that it’s a long weekend and therefore, one must have plans. No plans here. A couple of years ago a few of my colleagues from the Mpub drove up to Ottawa, where I ran into a lot of people from Queen’s and from high school. It was a crazy scene, and I’ll never forget sitting on the curb, drinking a beer and watching the fireworks explode over Parliament Hill. A long day, but definitely a strong sense of nationalism and community. Now, all I have to contribute is my t-shirt I bought a couple of years ago. The front reading “oh Canada!” and the back: “sexy since ’67”. I love it and wear it once a year on this very day. When I was younger our village had the big Canada day bash and you simply had to go. There was a parade, which you were certain to participate in more than once and then festivities and games throughout the day. I also worked at the corner grocery store down in the village for a few years, and Canada day was CRAZY. You were run off your feet just trying to keep up with the people pouring in the door, but it was also nice to get to see everyone and to share the day. Now, it’s just about trying to drive through the crowd to get on with the day.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

