adventures in audio booking

Posted on June 20, 2006. Filed under: Books |

My foray into audio booking was delayed by one day because I forgot to bring the CDs to my car (I hear it’s helpful to have them with you when you want to listen to them). But, I did remember this afternoon.

Only, either my car or the CD is cursed. The CD wanted to start on track 12, so I scanned ahead to track 1 and started listening. Suddenly, there was a huge leap in the plot…confused, I thought perhaps this was a flashback or flashforward? I decided to perservere. On the next track change, I caught the CD player skipping ahead. It seems to have a mind of its own — track 16, then I put it back to 2, then track 12, then I put it back to 3, track 13, 8, 6, 2….it was never ending. No 2 tracks want to play back to back! I managed to catch it every time a track was over and find the correct one — I’m now officially on track 12…but it’s quite annoying.

My CD player in the winter, however, likes to skip when my car turns a corner or goes over a bump, but never have I experienced track jumping. And I swear, I even checked to see if it was on random! Maybe I’ll have to check that again, just to be on the safe side, because if it was on random selection, then that would have explained my difficulties…unless it’s on that setting without showing RAND in the window…something just for fun with the hot weather. Well, it made me pay attention to the story, which I’m actually getting quite into. Except for the fact that one of the main characters names is Sky and that name has always irked me. Even as a kid. And she’s the annoying obstinate one in the “book” so far too.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

