how did you spend your mother’s day?

Posted on May 15, 2006. Filed under: Marriage, Uncategorized |

Well, yesterday was pretty good in terms of mother's day. The little bro and I got some pretty nice gifts for mom, I took a rose up to the cemetary for my one grandma. It was actually a perfect, overcast, grey, cemetary kind of day. Then we all went to see my grandma (and the whole family was pretty much there, including the new little baby, and my other cousin who is now pregnant — very excited for her). I was holding the baby for a while and my aunt piped up to say "that's a pretty picture". Ha. Ha. Not impressed. I re-stated that there will be no children coming out of this body. Marriage, of course, also came up later on and I overheard another aunt say "I'm pretty sure she'll be keeping her name". Damn straight. It was interesting because we were talking about lineage and how "the boy" keeps the name/genealogy going and how annoying that is. I think that if (in the unlikely event) I did have kids, the girls could have my last name and the boys his. That would be both patriarchal and matriarchal. Pretty even I'd say. I like the plan. That, and the separate houses philosophy that is.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “how did you spend your mother’s day?”

RSS Feed for Friends Keep Saying I Should Blog… Comments RSS Feed

I had a pretty good Mother’s Day, thanks for asking. As far as the last name of your future (unlikely) children, you could always get the dh to change his last name.

That’s true… I also know a husband and wife who each took one another’s names and both hyphenated. I find that it only works if each name is one syllable though.

Glad you had a good mother’s day!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

