the fates have done it again — timing is apparently everything

Posted on May 9, 2006. Filed under: Candida, The Dyingness |

The culmination of factors leading to the events of this morning can only be attributed to the evil doing of fate. First of all, my appointment with the GI was cancelled a couple of weeks ago. Then, last night I worked late…left around 6 and we usually work until 4…and I remembered a few blocks away that I had left my wallet on my desk. I had to knock on someone's window to get back into the building and I wouldn't have bothered to come back except for the fact that I had a GI appointment and needed my health card.

So, this morning, I'm good, I'm happy, I'm ready to go and I get stopped by construction twice. I then turn onto a street and am driving down the road when I'm cresting a hill and, at the last second, see an unmarked cop car coming at me. I cringe as I look into the rearview mirror and see him pull a U-turn.

Damn.

Luckily, I had gone back to get my wallet because now I need my license. He (nicely) knocked the ticket down to 10 over and $40 (no points lost). When I think about it, it's the first ticket in 10 years of driving and a lot of speeding, so I'm not too concerned, though it still kind of sucks.

Finally, I arrive at the doctors. He calls me in and I can feel my hands clasp together and then the grip tighten so that my knuckles are white. I'm definitely trying to not lunge across the desk and punch him in his smug, condescending face.

Now, I've not had much luck with the GI as you can see here and here and here oh, and one of the best ones here or the tongue idiot that he sent me to either. And today was particularly frustrating because he, yet again, asked a lot of the same questions. In fact I, for the fourth time, told him about changing my diet to the anti-candia, no gluten, sugar, dairy routine and he honestly looked shocked! THIS IS NOT NEWS! I have been telling him this since last September! He honestly said to me:

him: that's a really restrictive diet
me: yes, yes it is
him: but you can't buy anything at a normal grocery store or anything!
me: um, yep, pretty much

MORON! The basis of the entire conversation was that he's a pragmatist (Brian was impressed when I used the term in a conversation today) and he can't see beyond his stupid little tests. He smirked when I mentioned the osteopath (now, shouldn't you at least acknowledge the fact that there are other options?) and said that whatever "hocus pocus" (he ACTUALLY said hocus pocus) he was doing was probably working because I wanted it to work (ie, I'm crazy and the dyingness is all in my head because clearly there isn't anything wrong with me). I swear to God I wanted to fight him tooth and nail on the topic, but I managed to bite my still ulcerated tongue (which I mentioned doesn't fit into his "diagnosis" of "maybe you just have IBS"). At least I managed to hold back the tears of frustration, and at least there isn't any cancer growing in my GI tract, which is nice to know.

I guess I could maybe (maybe) let him off a bit if he were some over-the-hill, set in his ways kind of guy, but he's probably in his late 30s, and the fact that he's already so set in this frame of mind is a hinderance to his patients. I'm still so angry at the entire morning, but at least I never have to see him again. The GI is officially out of my life! Yay!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

6 Responses to “the fates have done it again — timing is apparently everything”

RSS Feed for Friends Keep Saying I Should Blog… Comments RSS Feed

Oh boy. You were not set to have a good day my friend. Oddly enough I had a similar experience at my own super-fancy disease doctor yesterday. The RRHB and I were talking about this yesterday — how if you’re not on the verge of death — organs failing, et al, super-fancy doctors don’t quite know what to do with you. Have faith, someone will figure it out sooner rather than later, and you’ve been seeing that good rheumatologist, so things are looking up.

It’s true. They definitely aren’t about preventative medicine in this country. Unless you’re on death’s doorstep, then you’re not going to get any attention. I firmly believe that if I hadn’t started going to the naturopath etc., that whatever was starting would have progressed into something awful. I was heading down a road that there maybe couldn’t have been any recovery from — but at least something would have showed up on their precious tests. Since that’s all that matters, apparently. Thanks for all of your support and advice through all of this! (and your very apt candida diagnosis)!

fuck. fuck. fuck.
i really don’t know what to say, that really sucks…i can’t believe how many idiots you’ve actually dealt with..i think that maybe i would like to go with you to the doctors just to let them know that you’re not crazy..i can also punch them for you!!

YAY! My first comment on your blog!

Boo! The GI doc is a dummy. Does GI stand for Great Ignoramus? When I went on a Candida diet a few years ago, my lovely GP was skeptical. Even my hippie, vegetarian friend who is a nutritionist had never heard of such a thing. Unlike most in the medical profession, she was more angry at the fact that no one in her program was teaching the students about this.

After going through scary medical stuff wtih my knee and then when Nate had his stroke, I realize now that it is not an exact science. They rarely know what’s going on and won’t hazzard a guess unless absolutely certain because someone might sue their ass. It sucks.

But I see you every day and you LOOK healthy, so I’m not worried. Though you’re uncomfortable, etc and you can’t eat anything, you’re still smiling so I know you’ll be OK.

I promise not to leave such long posts in the future.

Thanks! and you’re absolutely right. And I’m starting to feel better too, so maybe it is all coming together and the doctor’s couldn’t have found anything because they aren’t trained in that way. I just wish they would accept the fact that people who are trained in other schools of thought exist and are accountable, reliable people, not crazy witchdoctors out to get your money.

[…] 2007. As many of you know, I haven’t had much luck with doctors. My favourite post on this is here (and it leads you to all of the other ridiculous experiences with them all). My family doctor, […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

