brian got the job

Posted on May 5, 2006. Filed under: The boy(s) |

A month ago Brian started a conversation with his break-up voice on by saying:

“Look hon, I have something I need to talk to you about.”

Yikes. Tears instantly flooded my eyes as I assumed he was announcing a year long move to China or a break-up or some such thing (I seem to have a history with guys leaving for the other side of the world).

Anyway, he applied for a job in Arizona for the summer as a choir director. This meant more time apart if he did get it and, frankly, he knows I’ve been growing weary and getting quite upset with long distance and not really being secure in our relationship because of it. As it turns out it really won’t be that much more time than he was already going to be there for anyway, so that’s cool.

And he did get the job. Just yesterday. Which is exciting for him and I am very proud of him for doing this and really everything is positive here, I’m just a little bit disappointed that I won’t be able to see him as much in May. I told him he didn’t have to come home at all if he didn’t want to, but he still is. And, now I might get to go to Tucson to see his big debut (funds pending).

Of course the news had to come 2 days after the drunken phone call and on our anniversary. I told him he’d get the job because fate was working in his favour far too much:

1. Everything always works out for him.
2. Nothing ever works out for me.

With odds like that, you can’t defy fate.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “brian got the job”

RSS Feed for Friends Keep Saying I Should Blog… Comments RSS Feed

[…] One advantage to Brian getting the job is that I get to go back to Arizona (though just for a weekend). I just booked my flights and they were the most expensive ones yet — not fun when I didn’t expect this added expense for the year, but it will be worth it. I’ll at least get to see his first-ever professional show, and see him again (because frankly, it’s been too long of a stretch from March until now). The only disadvantage is that the desert is going to be freakin’ hot at the end of June! Yikes! I’ll come back burnt to a crisp, I’m sure. […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

