Behçet’s – may be onto something with the dyingness

Posted on April 21, 2006. Filed under: The Dyingness |

Hmmmm…this Behçet’s disease, or something similar to it could actually be what I have… I just looked it up and a lot of the symptoms are present, though not all, and not the ones that are the most common necessarily…again, no linking privileges as I’m on the mac, but some of the links are:

http://www.behcets.com/site/pp.asp?c=bhJIJSOCJrH&b=260548

This is my favourite part on this link (insert sarcasm here):
http://www.mamashealth.com/eye/bechet.asp
How severe the disease is varies from patient to patient. Some patients may live normal lives, but others may become blind or severely disabled.

And from this link the winners are:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/health/conditions/behcets1.shtml
The cause of this uncommon condition remains unknown, but experts in the field of Behcet’s research agree that it may be genetic.

There’s no cure for Behcet’s yet, but research continues and treatment’s available to keep symptoms at bay. The treatment recommended depends on which part of the body is affected and how severe the symptoms are. In general, topical steroids may be used for the ulcers, drops for eye inflammation and, in more severe cases, oral steroids or immuno-suppressant drugs may be used. Painkillers and anti-inflammatory medicines can relieve pain.

Not that this is necessarily what I have, but what I think I would be the most upset at the fact that if this is what I had, I couldn’t get the ocular implants for my eyes because of the inflammation. That would be upsetting to me because all I’ve ever really wanted is to be able to see without uber-thick glasses or contacts (which no longer come in my strength).

Now I’m getting depressed… 😦

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Behçet’s – may be onto something with the dyingness”

RSS Feed for Friends Keep Saying I Should Blog… Comments RSS Feed

No need to be depressed. At least now they might have an answer — good to be scared and maybe a bit sad, but not depressed. All will be well. And can I just say how smart I am to tell you to see a rheumatologist? Just teasing.

And hey, if they start you on the meds, at least you know what to expect: see ragdoll for a complete example of what life is like on immuno-suppresant medication. Wait, am I furthering the depression-like status. Perhaps I should shut up now.

Kisses.

Haha — too true, very smart to see a rheumatologist, though she also seemed perplexed: the tongue is the piece of evidence that throws everyone off track.

I guess I can’t be depressed until I get the blood results back — thanks for the support 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

