no, i didn’t give my card number to anyone else

Posted on April 19, 2006. Filed under: Uncategorized |

You know what's fun? Opening your Amex bill and seeing a charge for $702 that you didn't make. So, I had a charge from Bell Mobility for roughly this amount on my credit card bill and had to call Bell to find out what happened. It sound to me like some guy used my credit card to pay his bill. The conversation went like this:

them: did you give your card number to anyone else to pay there bill?
me: no
them: have you given your card number to a male?
me: no
them: so you're saying this is a fraudulent charge?
me: um, yes

They have launched a fraud investigation, as has Amex. My favourite part of the day was when Amex was surprised that I wanted to cancel my credit card. Oh, and the fact that both Bell and Amex tried to sell me a service to conclude the conversation. I guess that just indicates how frequently these things happen. Kind of scary. I hope I don't have to cancel my phone as well, I'm attached to the number.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

