Queen’s people really are all over the place!

Posted on February 21, 2006. Filed under: School, Travelling |

What they tell you as an undergrad at Queen’s is that you’ll be able to go anywhere in the world and do the Oil Thigh and chances are that people around will start to sing along with you. It’s true. I’ve run into people from Queen’s all over the place.

I ran into friends from there at Trafalgar Square one day. When in Glasgow a few years later a girl at my hostel had just graduated with me at Queen’s and on the same trip, when I was in the Isle of Skye (in Scotland), I was relaying this story and the girl I was talking to also went to Queen’s. Still the same trip, but later on, I was at Blarney Castle and I saw an older man with a Queen’s jacket on — not THE Queen’s jackets, but one with our crest and I asked if he went to Queen’s.

He said “Yes, but not the one you’re thinking of. Not the one in Belfast.”

I said “No, the one in Kingston.”

He had and so was his daughter.

I’ve also had numerous encounters in Toronto and on the Go train, but they’re so close to home that they don’t really count.

In Vancouver I ran into a girl that I had English with in my first year and when I went back to visit friends in Vancouver a few years after moving from the area, I ran into 2 other girls I used to work with at Queen’s.

Then, on Saturday Brian and I were on a Ghost Walk in Tucson and we saw a girl with a purple Queen’s jacket on. We asked if she was at Queen’s an she was. Her parents were with her too — and dad was sporting a nice Queen’s University hoodie. So fun! I should start a bulletin board or something so people can write about where they meet people who went to Queen’s, which, of course, is only interesting if you went there. Do you have any random encounters like this from your old stomping ground?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

