the marriage curse

Posted on January 21, 2006. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Have you noticed that no one ever tells you the magical marriage age is 25? There is a sudden spike in friends who have decided to make this “committment” to one another in this year of being alive. Every time I open the local paper or the alumni review they stare at me; dozens of smiling faces of people I know, or knew before they coupled off. I mean if it’ll make you happy and you really want to be with this other person for the rest of your life then go for it, but at 25 I highly doubt you can make this substantial decision. For goodness sake, I haven’t even been able to maintain a relationship for more than 1 year let alone be with someone long enough to decide I simply can’t live without them. Perhaps the problem is self-sufficience: I know I can live without anyone. Kind of ruins that romantic vibe that people try to have going on. The race is on to see which of these will remain “starter” marriages and which will continue on into eternity.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

